GEARED UP FIREARMS,TRAINING AND ACCESSORIES INC.
GEARED UP FIREARMS,TRAINING AND ACCESSORIES INC.
Effective October 1, 2016 Fingerprints will no longer be required for renewal application submissions. Fingerprints are still required for all initial/original Handgun Permit applications. (MD SB208 2016)ATTENTION: Before you may legally wear and carry a regulated firearm, you must possess and maintain on your person the MSP-issued Handgun Wear and Carry Permit. Submission of the application does not authorize you to wear, carry, or transport a handgun.To Access the Wear and Carry Application click on the link below:Wear and Carry Application Note: In order to view documents that are PDFs please utilize Internet Explorer or disable the PDF Viewer in Google Chrome. Instructions for disabling the PDF Viewer can be found HERE.Training must be successfully completed prior to submitting the application, unless you are exempt from training. Please click here for information on Wear and Carry Permit TrainingWho Should Apply? Wear and Carry Permits may be issued to any adult (18 years of age or over) who meets the following criteria:Has not been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been imposed; or convicted of a criminal offense for which you could have been sentenced to more than 2 years incarceration.Has not been convicted of a crime involving the possession, use, or distribution of a controlled dangerous substance;Is not presently an alcoholic, addict, or habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance unless under legitimate medical direction;Based on an investigation, has not exhibited a propensity for violence or instability that may reasonably render the person’s possession of a handgun a danger to the person or others;Has a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun, such as finding that the permit is necessary as a reasonable precaution against danger.As of October 1, 2013, has successfully completed the Maryland State Police approved firearms training course within 2 year prior to submitting the original or renewal application.Active, Former, and Retired Maryland Law Enforcement OfficersActive, Former, and Retired Maryland Law Enforcement Officers and retired or former federal law enforcement officers, who permanently reside in Maryland and who were assigned in Maryland during their employment- as long as the application is submitted within one year from the date the officer either retired in good standing or separated in good standing and/or the officer has a valid LEOSA permit/certification/identification, the Handgun Permit Unit may accept that the applicant has a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun as a reasonable precaution against the apprehended danger originating from his/her law enforcement position. For retired or former federal law enforcement officers and retired or former out-of -state law enforcement officers, who permanently reside in Maryland but were not assigned in Maryland during their employment, LEOSA is a nationally recognized credential and a Maryland Wear and Carry Permit is not required or necessary. The Maryland Police & Correctional Training Commission (MPCTC) may serve as the certifying agency for LEOSA if eligible and the application and guidelines can be found on the MPCTC website at mdle.net Should you desire a Maryland Wear and Carry Permit you will be required to provide a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun as a reasonable precaution against apprehended danger.How To Apply As of October 1, 2013, all new and renewal applicants must successfully complete required firearms training, within 2 years, prior to submitting the application. The Handgun Permit Unit will only accept applications completed electronically on the PDF form(s) provided below under Documents for initial and renewal applications. Please answer all questions accurately, completely and honestly. Once completed, the PDF form should be printed, and all documentation required and clarifications you feel may assist investigators in processing your application should be included. Too much is better than too little. The application, and all applicable documents, must be signed.Mail the application packet to the Licensing Division at the address provided below. Allow 90 business days for the completion of the application process. If the Licensing Division does not receive the renewal application, satisfactorily completed, by the expiration date, the applicant must begin as a new applicant and complete all requirements necessary for an initial application.The renewal process is the responsibility of the applicant and should be started no less than 90 business days from expiration of the handgun permit. Timely renewal is the responsibility of the permit holder. The Licensing Division does not send out renewal reminders.The applicant must submit, with the application, the electronic fingerprint transmission receipt and two (2) color passport type photographs depicting the applicant fromthe shoulders up. The photographs must be taken within the last 30 days and should be 2 inches by 2 inches. The applicant should not be wearing a hat or sunglass in the photograph.How Much Does It Cost? Fees must be paid by check or money order made payable to the Maryland State Police. Checks must be drawn on active accounts with sufficient funds. If the check is returned for insufficient funds or due to a closed account, the applicant will be required to pay for future requests of the Licensing Division by cashier’s check or money order.Original/Initial – $75.00 - Fingerprint Fees not includedRenewal – $50.00 - Fingerprints No Longer RequiredDuplicate/Modification – Total $10.00Active/Retired Law Enforcement Officers of this State or a County/ Municipality – $0.00Where to Mail Applications Maryland State PoliceLicensing Division1111 Reisterstown RoadPikesville, MD 21208ATTN: Handgun Permit Unit
Copyright © 2022 Gearedup - All Rights Reserved.